Home / Space force / Chinese launches loft satellites to study space environment and observe Earth – Spaceflight Now

Chinese launches loft satellites to study space environment and observe Earth – Spaceflight Now

Spread the love

A Lengthy March 4B rocket takes off from the Taiyuan house middle Friday. Credit score: Xinhua

China launched a Lengthy March 2D rocket Saturday with a satellite tv for pc Chinese language officers claimed will examine the house atmosphere and conduct know-how demonstrations, lower than two days after a Lengthy March 4B rocket took off from a special launch web site with an Earth-imaging payload.

The missions marked China’s 16th and 17th orbital-class launches this yr. Two of the launches earlier this yr failed to succeed in orbit with their payloads.

The Lengthy March 4B launch occurred at 0310 GMT July three (11:10 p.m. EDT July 2) from the Taiyuan house middle, situated in Shanxi province in northern China. The nation’s state-owned Xinhua information company described the mission’s major payload as a  “high-resolution multi-mode imaging satellite tv for pc.”

The satellite tv for pc is believed to be a part of China’s civilian-focused Gaofen collection of Earth-imaging satellites. A secondary payload deployed by the Lengthy March 4B rocket was a CubeSat developed by Chinese language college students.

The three-stage, liquid-fueled Lengthy March 4B launcher delivered the 2 satellites to a polar, sun-synchronous orbit at an altitude round 400 miles (640 kilometers) above Earth.

A Lengthy March 2D rocket takes off Saturday from the Jiuquan house base in northwestern China. Credit score: Xinhua

A two-stage Lengthy March 2D rocket took off from the Jiuquan house base Sunday — Chinese language time — with China’s second Shiyan 6-series tech demo and analysis satellite tv for pc, Xinhua mentioned.

The Lengthy March 2D blasted off at 2344 GMT (7:44 p.m. EDT) Saturday — or at 7:44 a.m. Beijing time Sunday — with some 650,000 kilos of thrust from its hydrazine-burning foremost engines. Lower than 15 minutes later, the rocket delivered the Shiyan 6 spacecraft to an orbit at an altitude of round 435 miles (700 kilometers).

Xinhua mentioned the second Shiyan 6 satellite tv for pc has a mission to review the atmosphere and conduct “associated know-how experiments.”

China launched the primary Shiyan 6 satellite tv for pc in November 2018. The Shiyan household of Chinese language satellites are designed for know-how demonstrations. Shiyan means “experiment” in Chinese language.

Email the creator.

Comply with Stephen Clark on Twitter: @StephenClark1.




Source link

About Reanna

Future wars is what I am looking for with Space force.

Check Also

9-Piece Star Wars Celebration Anaheim Fan Club Patch Set

Spread the love 9-Piece Star Wars Celebration Anaheim Fan Club Patch Set Posted by …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.