Home / Best War Games / What Academy Awards have the Star Wars films won?

What Academy Awards have the Star Wars films won?

Spread the love

Ben Burtt Academy Award win Star Wars
Ben Burt, C3PO and Mark Hamill

What Oscars did Star Wars win?

You do not essentially consider Star Wars movies as being Academy Award winners however they’re.

When Star Wars was launched in 1977 it was not simply the film goers that cherished it, the vital reception was optimistic so when it got here to Oscar seasons, Star Wars truly received 10 nominations and received 7.

That is proper A New Hope received 7 Oscars, an unbelievable achievement for a science fiction movie.

George Lucas received a director’s gong nod and Alec Guinness famously received a best-supporting actor’s nomination for his efforts because the fatherly Obi-Wan Kenobi nevertheless neither received the award. The film additionally did not win Greatest Image and Greatest Script.

Star Wars: A New Hope received Oscars for:

  • Greatest Artwork Route-Set Ornament
  • Greatest Costume Design
  • Greatest Sound
  • Greatest Movie Enhancing
  • Greatest Results, Visible Results
  • Greatest Music, Unique Rating
So Star Wars: A New Hope received 6 Oscars in whole.

A key reality is that the one who received the gong for Movie modifying, was George Lucas’s spouse, Marcia Lucas. The story of editing Star Wars is actually quite the story.

By the point Empire rolled round, Lucas and movie director Irvine Kershner had some issues with the Directors Guild of America so it will appear these points contributed to an absence of nominations, or maybe the enterprise had received over the feeling of Star Wars and weren’t so star struck. 

  • The Empire Strikes again received a gong for Greatest Sound.
  • Jedi received a particular achievement award for Visible Results. 
Whereas the awards dried up, the improvements that Lucasfilm got here up with throughout manufacturing had an extended and lasting impact on Hollywood and paved the way in which for a lot of different film makers which might be essentially the most rewarding factor for Lucas.

So in whole Star Wars motion pictures have received eight Oscars, 7 being actual ones.

Different worthy awards received embody a Golden Globe for John Williams’ rating and a BAFTA for Greatest Sound.

The Phantom Menace was nominated for 3 awards:

  • Oscar Greatest Sound – Gary Rydstrom, Tom Johnson, Shawn Murphy, John Midgley
  • Greatest Results, Sound Results Enhancing – Ben Burtt, Tom Bellfort
  • Greatest Results, Visible Results – John Knoll, Dennis Muren, Scott Squires, Rob Coleman

The Assault of the Clones was nominated for one award:

  • Greatest Visible Results – Rob Coleman, Pablo Helman, John Knoll, Ben Snow

Revenge of the Sith was nominated for one award:

  • Achievement in Make-up – Dave Elsey, Nikki Gooley

The Pressure Awakens was nominated for 5 awards:

  • Movie Enhancing – Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey
  • Unique Rating – John Williams 
  • Visible Results – Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan, and Chris Corbould
  • Sound Enhancing – Matthew Wooden and David Acord 
  • Sound Mixing – Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, and Stuart Wilson 

Rogue One was nominated for 2 Oscars:

  • Sound Mixing – David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson
  • Visible Results – John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal T. Hickel, Neil Corbould

The Final Jedi was nominated for 4 awards:

  • Unique Rating – John Williams 
  • Visible Results – Ben Morris, Mike Mulholland, Chris Corbould, and Neal Scanlan
  • Sound Enhancing – Matthew Wooden and Ren Klyce
  • Sound Mixing – Stuart Wilson, Ren Klyce, David Parker, and Michael Semanick 

Solo: A Star Wars story was nominated for a single gong:

  • Greatest Visible Results – Rob Bredow, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan and Dominic Tuohy

Source link

About admin

Check Also

Wow! This Is What SpaceX

Spread the love You’ve got by no means seen an evening sky sight fairly like …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *